July 16, 2010

61 Outstanding Louisiana Volunteers Nominated for 2010 Angel Award

A total of 61 Louisianians from every corner of the state have been nominated for the 2010 Angel Award sponsored by Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana.

Celebrating its 16th year, the Angel Award program has helped to identify and honor more than 100 outstanding individuals and has given more than $1 million to charities on behalf of the honorees. Past nominees have come from all walks of life and ranged in age from 17 to 93. What they all had in common was their unselfish contribution of time and energy to improve the welfare of the children in their communities.

Named from Alexandria is Stacey Debevec, and from Baker, Dr. Jobie Crear. Named from Baton Rouge are Keith Ballard, Sharman Charles, Myrtle David, Dr. Ronaldo Funes, Elizabeth Hampton, Katherine Hill, Rachel Howell, Clyde Johnson, Shelton Jones, Dr. Steven and Mrs. Danielle Kelley, Carolyn Lastrapes, Mark Litt, Vera Martin, Carolyn Myer, Patricia Pine, Arlene Smith and Roland Toups. Also nominated ae Bossier City residents Renee Starret and Martha Stevenson; Breaux Bridge resident Michelle Fontenot; Tanya Palazzalo of Chalmette; Denham Springs resident Michael Verrett; Geismar resident Tracy Norman; John Harris of Gretna; and Jackson resident Elain Ellerbe.

Also nominated are Dorothy Maloney of Lacombe; Lafayette resident Abram Freeman; Lake Charles resident Christy Papania-Jones; from Metairie, Ashley Belding, Lori Borne, Lisa Conescu, Amanda Kruse and Judy Stewart; LeAnne Cantrell of Mandeville; Madisonville residents Gary Fayard and Melissa Hodgson; Montpelier resident Marci Gaines; Morgan City resident Herman Hartman; Jo Ann Crone and Leigh Ann Goff of Monroe and Dee Scallan of West Monroe.

Named from New Orleans were Angela Daliet, Verlin Dix, Jackie Favaro, Juan George Gershanik, Katherine Johnson, Anna Monhartova, Leon Philpot, Russell Rehm, Laniqua Roussell, Kaseem Short, Derrick Tabb, Jamal Tyler and Jane Wholey.

Also nominated are Opelousas resident Roseanne Mitchell; Denyse Englert and Becky Prejean of Prairieville; and Shreveport residents Sal Miletello and Eddie Rivera.

For more information about the Angel Award program, visit the Blue Cross website at and click on “Community.” There, visitors can research information on hundreds of past Angel Award nominees, finalists and overall winners by name, year of nomination or geographical location.